Skip to content

Alternative Transportation: Walking

10 December 2011

In the past couple weeks, I’ve been making more of an effort to not rely on my car.

This summer, when my cousin was visiting from Finland, she was shocked that we drove our car from my parent’s house to the grocery store, less than half a mile.  My parents do live on a very large hill, but still…pretty lazy if you think about it.

I mean, I am lucky enough to have to healthy, fully-functional legs and a number of stores and shops within walking distance.  Driving just seems so silly.

Plus, it seems like we’ve been pretty lucky with weather this fall.  There haven’t been many dark, completely rainy days.  People from outside the Northwest might not think it’s been nice weather, but I’ve only scraped my windshield a couple times (I also don’t leave the house very early often).

Anyways, I’ve really enjoyed getting out, stretching my legs, and not feeling so bad about that cupcake treat (or cookie dough for breakfast as the case was earlier this week).

Plus who could say “no” to views like this:

sun over playfields

sunrise

leaf-lined street

2 Comments
  1. Elle permalink
    10 December 2011 8:55 pm

    Yay for walking! And beautiful pictures too 🙂

  2. 11 December 2011 11:24 am

    You should take a look at this lady. She bikes everywhere and has two young boys. Definitely an inspiration! http://twitter.com/#!/familyride

Comments are closed.