Skip to content

Friday Tidbit: Oil Changes

23 December 2011

For most of us, having a car is necessary.  I know I couldn’t have survived the last few months without mine. Work and school were just too far apart.

While cars are a major source of pollution, you can reduce you impact on the environment by the choices you make in car care.

Huffington Post had a great slideshow about things to keep in mind when it comes to changing your oil.

There were a few things that stuck out to me as being especially important when it comes to your car.  Recycle used oil or make sure the shop that does your change recycles.

NEVER dump waste into storm drains.  Those drains lead directly to water sources.  It’s worse than dumping something down your sink as that leads to the sewer system and water processing facilities.

Finally, the 3,000 rule is a bit of a myth. Check your manual to see how often you should get your oil changed.  I have to get changes every 5,000 miles.

One Comment
  1. 28 December 2011 7:49 am

    I haven’t checked my car’s manual, but I’m really hoping “oopsie it’s been 8,500 miles” is ok…

Comments are closed.

