Skip to content

Friday Tidbit: Biking Infographic

16 December 2011

I saw this infographic this week after REI tweeted it.  And after my posts about biking and walking, I thought it would be interesting to share.

This is actually a three part infographic.  While I thought about sharing it over the course of three weeks, it all ties together, so you are getting it all now.  Hopefully the stats don’t overwhelm you.

By the way, these were posted by Co.Design just a few days ago.

biking and health facts

Click to enlarge.

Two things stick out from the first section: you can lose 13 pounds in your first year of biking.  If you’ve been worried about your weight, that seems like a pretty easy option.  Second, 70% of Americans’ car trips are less than 2 miles. 2 miles!  That is not very far at all.

biking and health facts

Keep in mind these are correlations, not causations, but still.  If you have a short commute, the amount of money you’d save biking due to gas, health related expenses, and more, is pretty high.  Also, $8.00/gallon.  If that happened in the US, we’d revolt.

biking and health facts

Do any of these facts surprise or shock you?

2 Comments
  1. 16 December 2011 11:55 am

    I would love to bike to work but 1) I’m 26 miles away and 2) it’s freakin’ freezing more than it’s not here. I’d call this two more reasons to move to California.

    • 16 December 2011 2:16 pm

      I definitely haven’t used my bike in a while. I don’t have lights or fenders, so trying to bike when it’s rainy and dark is not so easy. And I don’t want to die.

Comments are closed.

