Skip to content

Alternative Forms of Transportation: Biking

30 November 2011

Before I moved south this fall for school, I decided it was time to (finally) get a bike again.

I’ve been without a bike for almost a decade.  In college, it was winter too much of the school year to make a bike very functional.

Since I’ve been back in my hometown, working close to home, I averaged less than a tank of gas each month, making the idea of a bike less of priority.  Plus, I was living on a huge hill off of a busy road without a bike lane. Basically, I had a lot of excuses.

But I was determined to have a bike this year, especially once we had signed a lease and were living in a good location for biking.

I’m not commuting to school or work currently by bike.  Night classes and the 90+ mile drive to work make a bike pretty unrealistic.  And often, I’m running errands or going out to eat with my roommates, and my bicycle is not built for two.

While I haven’t used my bike as much as I’d like, I try to use it whenever feasible.  I have taken it to campus anytime I have to go during the day for a meeting, as my parking pass is only good for a couple nights a week.  I’ve also taken it to meet up with friends nearby.

The other bonus of biking is that it’s a form of exercise–much better for your body than sitting in a car.

To make my bike more functional, I really need to make a few changes.  Hopefully in the next couple weeks I’ll have time to head to the bike shop and check out fenders and lights.  This time of the year, the rain and darkness make my bike fairly unsafe in its current state.

It’s time for an upgrade.

If anyone has recommendations for brands or gear, please pass them along.

3 Comments
  1. 1 December 2011 7:08 pm

    Biking is such good exercise. I walk most places and not bike because…well biking on the road freaks me out!

  2. 4 December 2011 9:40 pm

    I fell in love with biking when I got into it last spring (I began training for the STP). I have done it mainly for exercise versus getting around, but would like to try. Gear is just expensive and I haven’t wanted to make the investment in cold weather/rain attire for biking just yet. What kind of bike did you get? If you have any questions about anything bike related just let me know! Good job taking the first step. 🙂

    • 6 December 2011 2:51 pm

      I just have a Schwinn 21-speed Cruiser. It’s not really a full-time commuting bike, but it works for what I’m using it for right now. I am hoping to visit the bike shop at Greenlake soon to see what they have for fenders and lights. I need to make it functional for the winter time. Right now I’m not using it at all–even on nice days.

Comments are closed.

