Skip to content

Crafty Upcycling

28 November 2011

You may have noticed I mentioned upcycling in my links post over the weekend.  My aunt brought it up over Thanksgiving when she heard about my blog.

Then my mom texted me about a blog post about a crafty upcycling project this morning.  And I have to say, I’m pretty much in love.

Daisy Janie had a post about an upcycled cashmere sweater turned shrug.  I mean, how cute is that transformation?

Her post was part of a series by Betz White, who is all kinds of creative.  Betz’s Project Upcycled includes video lessons that are chaptered to walk you through each step and even allow you to take notes on the screen.

After a quick Pinterest search, I also stumbled across these cool leg warmers made from a sweater from Crochet Clouds.

I have to admit that I don’t feel crafty enough to take on these projects, but I love the idea of making something new from something old and unused.  And it definitely made me want to do a little more thrifting, which is just something I haven’t made enough time for this fall.

Have you ever upcycled something?  I’m ready to start some brainstorming.

12 Comments
  1. 29 November 2011 4:45 am

    I love to upcycle–there is something satisfying about taking an article of clothing that was going in the trash, or just sitting in the back of your closet, unworn, and then turning it into something awesome! Betz White is a favorite! I love the shrug transformation too! Thanks for sharing!

  2. 29 November 2011 5:28 pm

    You MUST check out New Dress A Day! http://www.newdressaday.com/

    After getting laid off, she made a new dress every day of the year using old finds from thrift stores, hand me downs, etc. She has gained so much popularity that she’s been on TV (I think it was The Today Show) and even designed some gowns for one of the big awards shows. So cool!

    • 29 November 2011 5:48 pm

      I love that blog! So cool. I just really wish I could sew.

  3. 29 November 2011 9:49 pm

    Love this!

    I went on a kick not long ago of cutting apart my basic boxy boring t-shirts and making them into new stylish shirts that actually fit me in a flattering way.

    I particularly love doing it with band t-shirts!

    I get compliments whenever I wear one of my creations out and friends have asked me to teach them how to do it.

    • 30 November 2011 11:26 am

      That’s awesome. Was it hard to do? Would love to hear more about your creations. 🙂

      • 1 December 2011 10:22 pm

        I don’t really have any good images of them, but I’m wearing them in a few of my Facebook photos. In a perfect world I’d offer to do a guest blog about it with step by step photos. 🙂

        That’s how I learned to do it, reading Instructables online and watching YouTube videos!

      • 2 December 2011 2:31 pm

        I’ll check it out!

  4. 2 December 2011 8:38 pm

    Just today at work I had to look up recycled art and upcycling. It’s not exactly clothing, but this crazy recycled silhouette art by Tim Noble and Sue Webster immediately stuck with me.

    http://paperstreetsupplies.com/uncategorized/shadowy-men-from-a-shadowy-planet/

    • 3 December 2011 11:24 am

      That is really awesome. Wow. Upcycling stuff really separates the crafty, artistic people from the untalented (a.k.a me).

  5. 5 December 2011 11:46 am

    I love projects like this! Here’s another fun clothing-inspired one… Since its FREEZING now, I won’t be making any at the moment, but these are definitely on my list for the spring!
    http://talk2thetrees.blogspot.com/2010/07/how-to-make-easy-high-waisted-dress-for.html

    • 5 December 2011 3:21 pm

      Maybe you could do it with a basic long-sleeved t-shirt for the winter months. Add tights and boots and it’s be adorable I bet.

Comments are closed.

