Skip to content

My attempt at the Oil Cleansing Method

23 November 2011

I shared a little information in the video, but I wanted to include a few helpful posts and websites in this post so you can learn more about the oil cleansing method.

Nitty Gritty on OCM
Sorta Crunchy archives
The Oil Cleansing Method.com
Simple Mom: Clean your face naturally

I actually created this video last night and so far today my face has felt great.  No dry areas, pain, itching, or acne flare ups.  So first day in, I’ll give it two thumbs up.

I’ll probably stick with water only cleansing in the mornings.  Next up I’d like to figure out a good green daily moisturizer with SPF.  SPF is essential for protecting my pale skin.

Would you ever consider trying the OCM?  Any good moisturizer recommendations?

P.S. This is my first attempt at a vlog and doing any sort of video editing.  I think I’m well on my way to award winning work. 🙂

P.P.S. There are some issues with castor oil.  It needs to be cold pressed to remove ricin.  And because of ricin the harvesting of the plant, mainly done in Brazil and China, has led to some harmful side effects for workers.  I will probably research more ethical natural oils to use for OCM.

9 Comments
  1. 23 November 2011 7:14 pm

    Nice natural way of cleansing…

  2. 24 November 2011 10:25 am

    An interesting idea to do the vlog. What was your inspiration? If it works out, it would be fun to see how you make the cleanser too (especially since you mentioned that there are a couple of tricks with the castor oil).

    • 25 November 2011 5:19 pm

      For the vlog, I was trying to come up with a different way to present material. It gets boring to write up post after post, and a video was a great way to break it up. I’ll definitely try to do a little “how to” on making the cleanser.

  3. 25 November 2011 4:08 pm

    Nice video and editing job! I like the idea of seeing the real person behind the writing. 😉

    Quick question, what is your take on Khiel’s products (which claim to be all-natural)? Just picked up my daily Ultra Facial Moisturizer SPF 15 there this morning (http://www.kiehls.com/Ultra-Facial-Moisturizer-SPF-15/352,default,pd.html?start=4&cgid=face-moisturizers).

    I also like that often they have special edition products that go toward a charity.

    • 25 November 2011 5:18 pm

      I don’t know a lot about Kiehl’s products. Generally speaking, I don’t believe that any mass produced skin care line is all-natural. The president of Aesop stated as much in a NYT article.

      One option for checking out different beauty products is a database by EWG. There has been some criticism of this site, but it provides a reference point.

  4. SChristie permalink
    26 November 2011 4:04 pm

    You are a natural on camera! You should stick with the personal video, it’s great!

  5. 29 November 2011 12:30 pm

    Thanks! I was just thinking over the weekend how I wanted to try the OCM but what the heck am I supposed to do with it!

  6. 29 November 2011 9:52 pm

    Maybe Jojoba oil?

    http://thejojobaoil.com/

    • 30 November 2011 11:26 am

      I’ll have to check that out. Thanks for sharing.

Comments are closed.

