Skip to content

Friday Tidbit: A Song and Consumerism

18 November 2011

I went to a concert this week.  I had actually forgotten about it because my brother bought the tickets so long ago.  It was an awesome show, even if I did feel old.  When did college kids get to be so young?!

The artist was Macklemore, a Seattle-based hip hop musician.  If you haven’t heard of his stuff, or watched his music videos, you really should.

Now, you’re probably wondering, what this all has to do with being green.

One of the reasons I really enjoy Macklemore’s music is that he deals with bigger, deeper issues.  Believe it or not, he actually referenced Malcolm Gladwell during the show.  One of his in particular made me think of this blog.

The song is “Wings,” about how we often try to fill holes, make ourselves feel better by buying stuff.  We’re taught to do it, by marketers, corporations, big box stores, you name it.  Check it out.

I know shoes are often a pretty big pull for me, though I’ve definitely been better recently (though mostly due to less money).  I think the key is to be less impulsive and more thoughtful.  I should focus on what I really need.

What “things” are your weakness when it comes to shopping?

2 Comments
  1. 20 November 2011 8:22 pm

    My weakness, specifically when shopping at Target, is anything to do with candles. I have no idea why but I cannot leave a Target without buying at least 3 candles (and they can get expensive). No room is complete without a candle lit 🙂

    • 23 November 2011 11:54 am

      I have a huge bag of candles in my closet, including what seems like a million tea lights. Not that I ever really use them.

Comments are closed.

