Skip to content

Apple Cider Vinegar

9 November 2011

Another common household product that is useful for everyday use is apple cider vinegar.

Scientific studies have shown that it has the potential to help with diabetes, cholesterol, blood pressure and heart health, cancer, and weight loss.  It’s important to keep in mind that the results of these studies are only preliminary.

Some people swear by apple cider vinegar and take it daily.  It is recommended that if you do so, to mix it into water or juice so the high acidic content doesn’t harm your esophagus.  And the claims associated with apple cider vinegar are often overstated.

Another potential benefit of this vinegar is a clearer complexion.  Again, because of the acidic content, apple cider vinegar should not be applied directly to the face.  Instead it should be watered down.

I found instructions on Tipnut to mix 1 part vinegar with 3 parts water and apply the mixture to my face.  After 5 minutes you rinse.

I tried it out and wasn’t thrilled with the results.  My skin tends to be pretty sensitive–I can only wear gold or silver jewelry, I scabbed the last time I had my eyebrows waxed, etc.–so I probably should have tested the mixture on a smaller area instead of my entire face.

That said, I could see the benefit of dabbing the mixture directly onto a pimple.  It obviously dried my skin out, besides just irritating it.

After rinsing, my face looked like it was sunburned, red and angry, and last night it was still bothered by having the heat on in my car.  It was a good reminder for me to not just take something at face value, especially something I stumble across online, without doing further research or investigation.

So here’s another friendly reminder not to be a passive consumer.

9 Comments
  1. 9 November 2011 11:10 am

    I did a cleanse two years ago that involved drinking this apple cider vinegar concoction that you mixed up every morning. The rest of the day all you could eat were apples and then veggies/light protein for dinner. It was pretty interesting! I’ll have to track down the instructions and share w/ you.

    • 11 November 2011 12:28 pm

      I’d definitely be interested in looking at it. I’ve actually never done a cleanse before.

  2. 10 November 2011 2:38 pm

    You are very brave for applying this concoction to your face. I would try almost anything for a clearer complexion, but this does sound overly painful.

    • 11 November 2011 12:28 pm

      Lesson learned on that one. I totally had more pimples crop up a couple days later, so it was a losing endeavor all around.

  3. 13 November 2011 9:02 pm

    Definitely a toner of the extreme variety. I do love using white vinegar for cleaning, but I don’t think I even have any cider vinegar in my pantry.

  4. 14 November 2011 12:00 pm

    I used to use apple cider vinegar in college to get out of going to work. I would gargle it straight up and within the hour my voice would be gone. Everyone automatically thinks you are deathly ill when you have no voice, so I easily got out of work. But I don’t suggest doing this as an adult haha, it def burns your throat like crazy when taken straight up.

  5. 14 November 2011 12:30 pm

    @Amy: Surprisingly, specific blue wavelengths of light have been shown to help with that. In lieu of ridiculously expensive “beauty” lamps, some people just go buy an LED or dichro-color lamp.

    Since I tend towards dry and sensitive (no more pink hair for me–I got the *worst* hives from that!), I only use ACV for things like treating my son’s athlete’s foot (along with tea tree oil).

Comments are closed.

