Skip to content

Soap Making

6 November 2011

Brambleberry is a soap making supplies company based in my hometown.  They are local, which I love, and a great resource.  They offer a selection of natural and organic products.  And apparently, making your own soap is pretty easy.

Earlier this year, I found a Groupon for soap making at their soap bar, Otion (pronounced like ocean).  I snatched up a couple and took my mom and sister along for soap making fun.

At the bar, you get to choose your base, fragrance, colors, and molds to make soap.  The employee helping us melted down the base and we did the rest, mixing in the fragrance oils and powdered color, then pouring the mixture into molds.

While the soaps set in the freezer, we had time to wander around the local antique stores and get a cold beverage.  It was a great outing!

I’ve been using the soap since and am absolutely in love with grass stain scent.  It’s really light and fresh.  And the extra soap makes under my bathroom counter smell delicious.

Brambleberry also has supplies for products other than soap, including lotion, cosmetics and more.  If you’re interested in more information, visit the Brambleberry website or check out their blog, the Soap Queen, for tips and ideas.

And if you are ever in Bellingham, I definitely recommend soap making at Otion!

8 Comments
  1. 6 November 2011 11:45 am

    This would be a great idea for DIY holiday gifts too! How many soaps do they let you make and take home with you?

    • 6 November 2011 12:25 pm

      You are given a set amount of the soap base. The number of soaps you make depends on the size of the molds you choose. I think I ended up with 5 bars of soap. And I’m still using the first one I made.

  2. 6 November 2011 5:28 pm

    Grass strain? that smells good? I feel like it would make me itchy! But i really like the idea of making soap! Especially if you have allergies… I bet you have more control over what’s in the soap! Plus it’s a cool thing to do with family and friends.

    • 6 November 2011 7:17 pm

      It is super fun. The grass stain kind of reminds me of a rainwashed kind of scent. It’s just very fresh and light, with the sweet tones of fresh cut grass and none of the dust or musty smell.

  3. Jeskmom permalink
    7 November 2011 10:20 am

    I agree that the grass stain is very nice. Some of the heavier scents were a little strong for me, even though I chose them. The rose, for example, is just too much. Next time, I’ll do two things differently. Choose the opaque soap, which didn’t seem as pretty ahead of time but is more appealing afterwards, and use very light, airy scents.
    But it was very fun. Thanks for including me.

    • 7 November 2011 11:48 am

      I agree. Some of scents that seemed best initially ended up being very overpowering. Lesson learned!

  4. 8 November 2011 11:21 pm

    As ccdoesseattle mentioned, I think its a great idea to have control over what is in your soap. So many national brands have skin irritants in them and as someone with sensitive skin its something I’m constantly on the look-out for. I feel like all I do at the grocery store is read labels. Our skin is our largest organ, gotta take care of it 🙂

  5. 15 November 2011 5:02 pm

    “With enough soap, you can blow up just about anything”
    –narrator, Fight Club

    It’s great to see the positive side of soap, seeing as the industrial production side can be pretty nasty (especially when considering lye extraction and processing).

    A great counterpoint to this is the Dr. Bronner’s magic soap phenomenon. There’s actually an interesting documentary out there entitled “Dr. Bronner’s Magic Soapbox” ( http://magicsoapbox.com/doc/ ) which describes the company’s interesting background and commitment to “Constructive Capitalism.”

Comments are closed.

