Skip to content

Cleaning the Bathroom

2 November 2011

(Could my titles get any more exciting? I think not.)

First of all, let me say that I may have underestimated the difficulty of the shopping portion of being able to clean.  This was due, mostly, to the fact that I am living and shopping in a completely new place.

I decided to go to the nearest Fred Meyer to find the items on my list because back home Freddie’s has a good “natural” selection.  The Fred Meyer near my apartment however, is laid out completely differently, and doesn’t even have groceries.  That meant no vinegar or baking soda that I could find.

That said, I was able to procure almost everything on my list.  It just took an extra stop.  Don’t worry though.  I rewarded myself with a little chocolate.

Back home I dove into the cleaning process, determined to get my bathroom whipped into shape.  After surfing the web, I came across a couple “recipes” to try from Re-Nest that I liked.

The first was a tub and tile scrub that used 1 2/3 c baking soda, 1/2 vegetable oil-based liquid soap, 1/2 c water, 2 tbsp vinegar.  I used Dr. Bronner’s in Eucalyptus.

Let me just say that the bucket I used for my mixture was way too big.  Lesson learned on that one.

The mix worked wonderfully.  There were some marks in the basin of my shower that I had been unable to remove with Scrubbing Bubbles previously, and this mixture made it look much better.  And the scum on my shower doors disappeared.

I also used a combination of 1/4 c baking soda and 1 c vinegar for the toilet.  I let the mixture sit 15 minutes or so, scrubbed out the bowl, and flushed it down.  It was super easy and worked great.

I should mention that I did really measure all my materials.  Just like when I cook, I eyeballed it.  As everything came out clean, I think I did alright.

6 Comments
  1. 2 November 2011 2:13 pm

    Go to the Ballard Fred Meyer! It’s probably my favorite place in the world, next to Disneyland.

    • 2 November 2011 10:05 pm

      I’ll have to check out that FM. I went to the one on 85th and it’s definitely a little sketchy.

  2. Maren permalink
    2 November 2011 3:31 pm

    Was this inspired by the urinal fly? :O) What a great idea though. I have used vinegar and water to clean my hardwood floors for years, why not try some with baking soda for the toilet! Thanks for the tip!

    • 2 November 2011 10:03 pm

      I had done this pre-urinal fly, but the timing was ironic. Through my research I’ve learned you can clean almost anything with baking soda and vinegar. It’s pretty awesome!

  3. 2 November 2011 10:10 pm

    I have always seen Dr. Bronner’s at stores like Whole Foods and never had any idea what to use that for (aside from a soap for personal use). Thats awesome that its so versatile. My tub looks sketchy from the previous tenants so this might be the perfect Sunday afternoon experiment for me to try this weekend. 🙂

Comments are closed.

