Skip to content

Jumping In

26 October 2011

I’ve decided to start out by looking at cleaning supplies, mostly because they are part of what spurred this idea.  A few weeks ago I was cleaning my tiny bathroom and felt like scrubbing bubbles had removed all the oxygen in the air.

And I thought to myself, “Well, that can’t be healthy.”

We’ve been trained that clean smells a certain.  Unfortunately, I think we’ve just become to used to the smell of chemicals.

As I’m new to this whole healthy-living thing, I did what anyone my age might do when they need information.  I Googled it.  And there is a lot of information out there.  Based on a few different sites and blog posts I’ve compiled a list of cleaning materials to buy.

(Sources include: here, here, and here)

Green Clean shopping list:
• Baking Soda
• White Distilled Vinegar
• Hydrogen peroxide
• Borax
• Essential oils, like tea tree oil, lavender oil, eucalyptus oil, or lemongrass oil
• Castile soap (like Dr. Bronner’s)
• Fresh herbs, citrus, or citrus peels
• Olive or vegetable oil
• Washing Soda

So that’s where I’m starting.  This weekend will be the big cleaning extravaganza using these products.  I’ll be back with an update about how it goes.

As I search the internet I’ve had trouble figuring out good dishwashing detergent options.  I found this post, but I’m wondering if those are really good to be putting out into the environment.  Any suggestions?

10 Comments
  1. 26 October 2011 8:39 pm

    I use vinegar and baking soda for SO many things. Most of our cleaning is done with those two ingredients, and I use them for washing my hair! We also use Method and Mrs. Meyers brand, which are awesome. I also use bleach fairly regularly because it’s not as toxic and does a lot (and yes, I love the smell of it).

    I do have a hard time with getting into natural skin care and cosmetics. It’s mostly the cost, but I think it might be worth the investment in the long run, for both myself and the environment.

    I’m so excited about this new blog of yours! I’m assuming it’s part of school?

    • 26 October 2011 8:45 pm

      This is for school. We had to come up with an action idea and plan a blog around it. But this is topic I’ve been avoiding for years because it’s so overwhelming to me. I’m excited to figure it all out!

      • 27 October 2011 12:22 pm

        I think with tackling something like this takes baby steps. Start by making small changes here and there, and slowly work toward a larger goal. Makes it seem much less daunting.

  2. bizzyschorr permalink
    27 October 2011 12:28 pm

    Can’t wait to hear how this went. I have thought about this in the past, mostly because of cost. Baking soda and vinegar are not exactly pricey and yet we pay how much for that special spray bottle? I guess my biggest deterrent is just not having done it this way before.

  3. 2 November 2011 2:15 pm

    I found this on Pinterest, and I am going to try it soon. http://beingcreativetokeepmysanity.blogspot.com/2011/01/dishwasher-detergent.html?m=1

    • 2 November 2011 10:04 pm

      That’s looks like a great option, though I’m a little weirded out by the powdered lemonade. But it seems tasty. 🙂 Thanks for sharing Nicole!

  4. 3 November 2011 11:09 am

    This is really interesting. I made the switch to “green” cleaning products a year ago, but this is definitely an even better solution. Have you considered buying empty spray bottles and making batches of solution that you can label and keep on hand for easy access?

    • 3 November 2011 11:50 am

      That’s my next big project. I really want to have things ready on hand so I’m not having to mix things up every time I want to clean.

  5. 13 November 2011 3:49 pm

    I’ve been using Seventh Generation for several years, along with other green cleaners. I’m not sure they’re all completely innocent but definitely better than the alternative. The problem I have is with some commercial brands that do greenwashing and their labeling leads you to believe the stuff is eco-friendly and unless you’re really educated about the ingredient, you don’t know any better. So I found it’s safer to stick with a brand I trust, hence Seventh Gen and a few others (love Mrs. Meyers too!). It’s more expensive so it would be easy to stray in tough times but I can’t go back to any of the mainstream brands.

    • 13 November 2011 3:54 pm

      Greenwashing is a huge problem. Companies can put pretty much anything on their labels. I agree with you, it’s better to stick with trustworthy brands.

Comments are closed.

