Skip to content

Starting to Change

17 October 2011

I like to think that I live a healthy life.  I try to eat greens, exercise regularly, wear sunscreen, etc.

But in reality, I live a lot of my life without much thought to my actions, products I use, and the implications for my health and the environment.

I know, I have known that the environment is in trouble.  For years, humans have spent their time trying to make life easier and ignoring the long-term implications of our actions for the planet.

But the reality is overwhelming, so instead of doing anything, I’ve buried my head in the sand and carried on with life as usual.

Additionally, I have no idea what is in the products I use, including cleaning products and cosmetics.

I’ve decided enough is enough.  Starting small by making changes in how I live is better than making no changes at all.  I want to look at the products I use, the things I eat, the purchases I make, and how to make better choices.

There are alternatives.  They don’t have to be expensive or difficult to find, and I’m going to find them.

I want this blog to be a place to share what I learn and hopefully inspire you to make changes in your own life.

5 Comments
  1. 16 October 2011 9:22 pm

    I commend you for this choice. It’s also a lifestyle change that I’ve made gradually within the last two years, and it was worth it. I eat healthier (my one weakness is sweets!), and I’ve switched to all natural beauty products. I would recommend http://www.ewg.org/skindeep/ to check the toxicity of ingredients in products, and to look for alternatives. Burt’s Bees, Seventh Generation, and Tom’s of Maine are generally safe brands. Also, don’t forget the most important aspect of this change- to reconnect with the Earth. Go outside, rediscover nature, and you will be eternally motivated!

    Again, I’m proud to see others are going green and sharing the journey with others!

    • 17 October 2011 9:38 pm

      Thanks for the link. I’ll definitely check it out!

  2. 24 October 2011 9:14 pm

    Let me know if you find the secret to breaking old habits during this adventure.

    I’d love to eat more fresh food (being married has certainly helped!). It’s one of those things I never regret. I never eat a sandwich with fresh lettuce and tomatoes and feel lethargic and sick to my stomach afterward. But I eat 10 times as much frozen pizza as fresh sandwiches. Why the heck is that?

    Anyway, good luck! I’ll definitely be keeping up.

  3. 3 November 2011 6:44 am

    Ashley at ourlittleapartment.com uses a baking soda paste to wash her hair, an apple cider vinegar for conditioner, and an olive oil/castor oil (I think) mixture for her face with good results! I love finding ways to cut back on all the unnecessary chemicles and I think we all could stand to log in a little extra time to save ourselves (because honestly, do we really think that stuff DOESN’T seep into our bodies?) and our planet.

    • 3 November 2011 10:24 am

      Thanks for the tips. I’ll definitely add those to my list. And check out that blog.

Comments are closed.

